Tuesday, April 14, 2009

We're Not Gonna Take It

We're not gonna take it!
No, we ain't gonna take it,
We're not gonna take it anymore!

What a pretty new blog I have myself here. I'm not going to lie, it was a pretty stressful moment when I was trying to figure out what to name it. Dreaming in Music Notes. It's cute, and I like it...and I'm sure it'll grow more on me.

So here I am, listening to the Twisted Sister version of We're Not Gonna Take It, which means I'm feeling all empowered and...powerful. Before you accuse me of being a crazy-person, talking about empowerment, realize it's a temporary obsession with this song, that's all! I watched Chuck last night and they played this song throughout the entire episode. It drove me absolutely crazy because it fit so perfectly. I won't bore you with the details (or spoil it for you), but it was a pretty awesome episode. With a terrible cliffhanger. I'm not making any assumptions that someone is here reading my blog, but I'm taking precautions here and being careful not to get a reputation for spoiling things. If you've never seen Chuck, see it. Monday nights. Great show.

I usually hate the first post of a blog because I don't usually know what to say, but I'm kind of just letting myself pour out my day. In a regular-blog type of way.

I had a blog on xanga, but it kind of just got depressing. It was one of those "pouring out my feelings" blogs, and now I want an everyday life and occassional rant blog. Much more fun, much more upbeat. I wasn't terribly fond of the xanga format, either. Blogger.com, on the other hand, is sleek and smooth and easy to operate, and I am falling in love with it. I also found a really awesome blog that I'm following right now, called Pacing the Panic Room. He has breathtaking photography, and has a photo series about his wife's pregnancy (with weekly photos). I find it really interesting, and he's a brilliant writer, which makes it worthwhile.

I was at work today, and it honestly lifted that stressed-out-exam aura off of me for a few hours. I'm in my first year of University and in the middle of exams. I'm actually supposed to be studying...right now......My high stress-levels are skyrocketing, and when I found out that I was supposed to work today I flipped out. I always forget how much fun I have there, though, and how calming it is. I volunteer during the mornings and afternoons at an Elementary school in the library in between studying, and at lunch I work in the classrooms monitoring lunch and supervising. My Mom is the librarian, and so I spent the morning studying and volunteering and worked at lunch, and came straight home to work. I ended up stopping at a good friend's house and watching some bad TV with her (she likes Trailer Park Boys...) and mixing bad drinks (rum and cranberry juice didn't taste good. Maybe we did it wrong?) at 2 o'clock in the afternoon. It was good to relax, and we only had one drink (we're not that weird, we don't get drunk mid-afternoon) before I left.

This is kind of sweet. It's saying hello to you all for the first time. I can't help but wonder how to end my post. I know it was a bit random, but I'm sure that my next one will have a little bit more structure.

<3 Love, Caitlin

No comments:

Post a Comment